The whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help you God?  What does that last part even mean? “So help you God”

According to dictionary.com:

World English Dictionary
truth  (truːθ) [Click for IPA pronunciation guide]
— n
1. the quality of being true, genuine, actual, or factual: the truth of his statement was attested
2. something that is true as opposed to false: you did not tellme the truth
3. a proven or verified principle or statement; fact: the truths of astronomy
4. usually plural ) a system of concepts purporting to represent some aspect of the world: the truths of ancient religions
5. fidelity to a required standard or law
6. faithful reproduction or portrayal: the truth of a portrait
7. an obvious fact; truism; platitude
8. honesty, reliability, or veracity: the truth of her nature
9. accuracy, as in the setting, adjustment, or position of something, such as a mechanical instrument
10. the state or quality of being faithful; allegiance

I’ve always been a little put off by people’s idea of what truth is: lying for comfort, go along to get along. Inserting only enough of the truth so what you’re saying doesn’t sound like bullsh!t. Is that what it is? Truth is such a grey area. I’m no saint on the subject either.  I still tell the random, “No, I don’t think the new way you are doing your make up makes you look like a drag queen.”  Yet, if someone asks me for my advice or my opinion, that’s where the grey area ends for me.

I spent the first ohhh 30 years of my life awkwardly figuring out that people in general don’t want the truth even when they say they do. I’ve lost many relationships being honest. Looking back I can only assume those relationships were not worth having in the first place if the truth, in some degree or another, injured or killed them. On the other hand I have had people tell me my ability to be brutally blunt is precisely the reason they love me. I can’t help but laugh to myself when I remember one life long friend (L3) telling me she had been talking about me to another friend of hers, “If you ever want the hard cold truth, ask Brandy.  There is one person who sugar coats nothing.  Even if the truth crushes you, she puts it right out there for you to deal with.”  I think she was attempting to compliment me, that’s how I took it anyway.

I have that parental voice in my head, this one in particular sounds like my mother. “If you don’t want the truth, then don’t ask me.” My mother was not one of those wisdom spewing, altruistic, June Cleaver types, if anything she was in as much turmoil as I was on a daily basis.  I’m not one to seek out opportunities to be hurtful. I do, however, come to the table as honestly as I can.  Absolute truth is a myth.

I recently ended a friendship because quite literally everything out of the person’s mouth was some degree of a lie. This particular person wasn’t even aware that the lie was happening and completely unconcerned that anyone who actually paid attention for more than five minutes could easily catch the snowballing verbal diarrhea.

I’m curious what the truth means to you?

