Part 2: 11-20 of 100

ϟ Do you believe in magic? When have you felt it?

Of course, the magic of childbirth, the magic of seeing a dying person’s eyes clear and go completely peaceful when the end is coming and they know it, the magic of watching a child discovering anything for the first time, the magic of seeing a full grown tree coming out of a crack in a huge boulder (How does that happen! There’s no dirt in there!), the magic of a first kiss or the first one with someone new. There’s something magical in every moment if you see it with the right attitude.

ϟ Is there something that people consistently ask for your advice on? What is it?

Relationships. I’d say having 3 ex-husbands hardly makes me an expert at relationships and I tell people that when they come to me for advice.  I SUCK at relationships. Actually that’s not completely true, I’m really good at new relationships.

ϟ Have you ever fantasized about changing your first name? To what?

When I was in 3rd grade I wanted my name to be Charlie SO bad. No idea why. Oh! Maybe I was a Charlie in a recent past life. I should ask P about that.

ϟ When was the last time you astonished yourself?

The first time I felt someone else’s feelings and was able to clearly identify which ones were mine and which ones were theirs. Driving home from a show downtown I witnessed a car vs. scooter accident in my side mirror. We were stopped so I could keep looking to see what had happened in the tiny mirror. Screeching tires and the shadow of a scooter hitting the pavement in front of the car. A small car T-Boned a scooter crossing traffic where he shouldn’t have been.  Anyway, I watched for as long as we were sitting there in traffic. P asked me what I was feeling as we drove away, I really had to focus to figure it out. I was feeling panic, stress, fear, worry and adrenaline. The words “Oh my God, Oh my God, Oh my God” were repeating in my head over and over and my guts felt like they were getting tugged apart. I described all this to P, he just looked at me like I should know and said, “It sounds to me like you’re connected with the driver”. I drove the rest of the way home in stunned silence.

ϟ What’s your personal anthem or theme song?

I just listened to Shania Twain, “Feel like a woman” a few hours ago so that’s the only song coming to me right now.

ϟ Do you ever yearn for your life, before Facebook?

No, I’m in much closer communication with my entire family thanks to Facebook.

ϟ What’s your definition of an ideal house guest?

Gone doing their own things during some of the time, clean up after themselves and be in good spirits.

ϟ If you had an extra $100 to spend on yourself every week, what would you do?

Put in in a vacation jar and take a cheap holiday a couple times a year.

ϟ If you could sit down with your 15-year old self, what would you tell him or her?

Ask questions of people that intrigue you and get to know them, you are drawn to them for a reason. Don’t ever let anyone tell you that you aren’t good enough for what you want or dream of.

ϟ What are you BORED of?

People who are so miserable in their own life they feel the need to inflict their pain on others.  Racism and homophobia. Working really really for someone else instead of my own business and financial goals (change is acomin’).

